Little Wing Oysters

At the Open Air Market, I bought a dozen oysters from Little Wing company. I grilled them over coals just until they released, because to my chagrin, I don’t know how to shuck oysters.  So, I got them opened up, and then put a tablespoon of chopped spinach, some extra lemony hollandaise sauce, and a few healthy shakes of Tobasco sauce. Then I grilled them until the sauce was bubbly and, oh man, they were so sweet and pure and beautiful……Thank you, oyster farmers, thank you!
Update:
I’ve become an avid oyster gatherer and find that the ones on our beaches are wonderfully sweet and luscious. We are so lucky to have clean beaches where it’s safe to enjoy this bounty from the sea.

~ by maijatomboy on May 15, 2009.

One Response to “Little Wing Oysters”

  1. I am happy to say that our Chef chose Little Wing Oysters. I have nothing but good feed back from my guests. I too am an oyster fan. A clean brine, flavourful but not over powering.

    Jamie Christo
    Bartender, Mon Bella Restaurant, Vancouver B.C.

Leave a Reply

 
