Royal Zayka

When Royal Zayka moved into the space formerly known as The Hub everyone was pretty happy to have another restaurant open up in Townsite.  I’ve been there a handful of times and it’s always busy. It’s a good location, with good service, and when they offer a buffet it brings in a lot of new, budget-minded customers.  I’ve always ordered off the menu because I have my favorite Indian dishes, so I can’t comment on the quality of the buffet. The naan is soft and piping hot. The papadam are fresh and well seasoned. I loved the Chicken Tika, the Butter Chicken and Palak Paneer.  The chefs don’t skimp on quality ingredients and the portions are very generous. The service is friendly and professional. I strongly recommend you try them out.

So, now the downside: I was really sad to see the decor so badly changed from when it was The Hub. The rich colors, the hub-inspired signage above the bar always made me feel really excited to be in such a beautiful space. The new owners have put up really bland, commercial quality art of “India’s landscapes”. It is so incongruent with the building style and colors that I find it jarring. I wish the owners would let someone help them with the look of the place.

I know that decor is pretty low on the list of criteria for selecting a restaurant. But isn’t it a joy to be in a beautiful space that is original and comfortable at the same time? It matters to me and it might to you as well. Like the cherry on a sundae.

 

 

~ by maijatomboy on January 7, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
